Copyrights © 2015-2021 ethical elephant. Is Citrus Red 2 Vegan? Female cochineal insects or their eggs are the primary sources for carminic acid. This colorant cannot be kosher certified (though some suppliers claim to have a kosher certificate), and, in some quarters, carmine is considered by vegetarians to be “non-vegan… You'd be surprised how many "natural" products contain this disgusting ingredient. It’s most commonly used to color the peel of oranges. Carmine (often listed as cochineal extract or Natural Red 4), a red coloring made from crushed insects, per PETA. Products with carmine as an ingredient that claim to be vegan are sorely mislabeled! Your email address will not be published. Some products may not even contain carmine at all but since the products were made on the same equipment and assembly line with other products that do contain carmine, cosmetic manufacturers list carmine under the “may contain +/-” list for those who are sensitive or allergic to the ingredient. By checking this box, I authorise Vegan.com to store my personal information in order to reach out to me. When in doubt, always contact the company directly and ask if the product your interested in or the specific shade/color contains carmine. And, I'm aware that I can withdraw my consent at any given time. Just because a brand claims to be “cruelty-free” does not automatically mean their products are free of carmine. Cochineal (Carmine) that is used as dye, gelatin used as stabilizer, lanolin and glycerol also used as food stabilizers, cow bone char for sweetening: all of these are elements that prevent a drink from being vegan … On labels, carmine may also be listed as cochineal extract, crimson lake, natural red 4 and E120. Yes, you read that right. The insects feed on cactus plants in Central and South America and the females eat the red cactus berries; when they’re crushed an intense red dye is produced. In addition, if you ever spot carmine in the ingredients under the “may contain +/-” list, this does not automatically mean the product contains carmine. In foods, it is listed on the ingredient label as: Carmine; Cochineal The pigment is produced by drying, crushing, and then boiling the bodies of cochineal beetles to extract carminic acid. Anything that contains carmine or a derivative from cochineal insects is not suitable for vegans. How About… Fenty Skin?! It is created by crushing the dried body of the female cochineal beetle ( Dactylopius confusus ), which produces copious amounts of red fluid. If you want to learn more about the harvesting and production process, I definitely recommend checking this post from Gentle World. If you find “carmine,” “cochineal extract,” or “natural red 4” listed, drop whichever product you’re holding and head for the hills. Carmine is a bright red dye commonly used to color food, cosmetics and textiles. ... E120 Cochineal or Carmine Used as a red food colouring in products, such as drinks, biscuits, sweets, desserts and sauces. Around 70,000 cochineal have to … Is Carmine Vegan? Carmine/cochineal dye (NOT VEGAN): Dye from crushed Dactylopius Coccus … or cochineal beetles to be precise. So, is carmine vegan? Many vegans and caring consumers choose to avoid cosmetics and food products containing an ingredient called carmine because it is derived from crushed bodies of insects. Anyway, the presence of lactic acid doesn’t necessarily render a food product non-vegan. The pigment is produced by drying, crushing, and then boiling the bodies of cochineal beetles to extract carminic acid. (What You Need To Know!). So is E122 (Carmoisine/Azorubine) Vegan? Food companies use carmine and Red #40 to reduce costs. For people following a kosher diet, vegan diet or vegetarian diet, consuming foods or using cosmetic products containing the red food coloring wouldn’t be appropriate. All Rights Reserved. The Hansen sweet potato™ has been developed using traditional methods as a plant-based replacement for the red pigment created from mushed up insects Vegan is becoming a fourth pillar,” she says. OK, not really—just look for a vegan item instead! guide to living your best cruelty-free & vegan life. It is made by crushing the cochineal insect. It’s actually produced from coal. Cochineal (E120 or red #4), also labeled as carmine, carminic acid, is a red dye derived from the cochineal beetle.I've seen it in everything from candy sprinkles (hundreds and thousands) to savoury pre-packaged meal options. Lots of beetles have to be killed just to generate a small amount of the stuff. Anyways, the graphic you made is super helpful since like you I can never remember every name and I instead avoid products a may like if I am at all concerned. Copyright © 2015-2021 ethical elephant. If a product has the Vegetarian Society Approved vegetarian or vegan trademark on, you can be sure that the E numbers used are veggie and/or vegan friendly. Although carmine is considered safe to be used in food products and EWG does not consider the ingredient to be potentially toxic or harmful, there have been some reported cases of severe allergic reactions in consuming or using products that contain carmine. Red 40 is routinely tested on animals. Vegans and others concerned about animal-derived products will want to avoid these makeup colors: So-Bronze 1, So-Bronze 2, So-Bronze 3, Rose Dawn, Peaches & Cream Bronzer GreatShape Contour Kit: Cool (Blush), Deep (Blush) All Rights Reserved. Note: It is not dangerous to ingest Carmine […] So we need to be on the lookout and make sure we’re reading those ingredient lists. I had problems with my favorite color of lipstick from Burts Bees and it wasn’t until the pasta incident that I found out why it bothered my lips. Lucky for us vegans, that means it’s pretty easy to spot the ingredient on labels and to avoid products containing crushed insects. The pigment is produced by drying, crushing, and then boiling the bodies of cochineal beetles to extract carminic acid. In this article I’ll explain more about carmine, also known as E120, and why I avoid it. Made with ♥ by Cloudnames. Many controversies surround Carmine – the red pigmentation found in various food and beauty products. Anything that contains carmine or a derivative from cochineal insects is not suitable for vegans. Carmine is widely used in food products and cosmetics as a ‘natural’ dye and can be found in just about anything. It is used as a coloring ingredient in many reputable cosmetics and foods such as yogurt, ice cream and fruit juices. Required fields are marked *. Vegan diets are a little more recent, but are getting a good amount of press. Finally, yes. Is Carmine Vegan? Carmine is a red colouring obtained by crushing bugs and used in the cosmetics industry to make lipsticks. Why? In the food industry, some categories are easier to avoid carmine in than others. Consequently, more product developers are aiming to find alternative natural colours next to carmine that qualify. No. Some cosmetic companies may use the same label or packaging on a number of their products and/or variation of colors in order to keep costs down. If you are not familiar with the ingredient “Carmine” already, prepare to be a little grossed out. How to Avoid It. But I do think there is hope as I see more brands trying to stick with cruelty free products. One of the more common methods involves boiling dried cochineals (a scale insect native to South America) in water in order to extract Carminic acid. Verdict: Blue #2, or Indigo Carmine, is not vegan. Carmine is dried crushed red beetles. With that being said, it’s still something you should somewhat avoid, as it’s health effects aren’t entirely known/understood and it can cause rashes and headaches amongst other symptoms in certain individuals, especially children. A vegan friend of mine clued me in a few years ago, ... What is carmine? People clean insects shells of viscera, dry them and treat with ammonia or sodium carbonate. Carmine is used in candy and other foods (Photo: Chr. “If a product is vegan it should be 100% carmine-free.” PETA notes that Kat Von D Beauty, Too Faced, Urban Decay, Face It Natural Beauty and Fairy Girl, among others, offer carmine-free vegan cosmetic products. In a consumer-driven society our individual choices, used collectively for the good of animals and nature, can change the world faster than laws.”― Marc Bekoff. Charlotte Tilbury has confirmed that it is vegan. As a result, the FDA requires food and cosmetic manufacturers to “specifically declare the presence of the color additive by its respective common or usual name, ‘cochineal extract’ or ‘carmine,’ in the ingredient statement of the food label.” (Source: LiveScience). (E121) Citrus Red 2 is another artificial dye that adds a red or dark orange color to foods. Carmine is made from beetles, and is therefore not vegan. Carmine is a bright red dye commonly used to color food, cosmetics and textiles. 75470, or E120, is a pigment of a bright-red color obtained from the aluminum salt of carminic acid; it is also a general term for a particularly deep-red color. So, despite being “vegan”, it’s definitely not cruelty-free , as it is contaminated with benzidine or other carcinogens, which are harmful to animals. Carmine aka Red 4 is a non-vegan food coloring agent. Natural - Ingredients are not synthetic or artificial, but extracted directly from plants or animal products Disodium - Flavor Enhancer - … An increasing number of consumers today are seeking a vegetarian or vegan diet. Carmine - Red pigment extracted from the crushed carcasses of the cochineal insect, a cactus-feeding insect. What Is It Exactly? These include gelatin, honey, carmine, pepsin, shellac, albumin, whey, casein and some forms of vitamin D3. Red 4 or Carmine is a non-vegan food color, a red pigment extracted from the beetles, which is different from Red 40. Food-colors are considered vegan when they are made synthetically or derived from petroleum. Carmine is made from beetles, and is therefore not vegan. However, even when these additional animal products aren’t added, carmine is never vegan, as it always requires the use and killing of animals. If you want to only shop and buy carmine-free cosmetics, then check out our list of 100% vegan beauty brands. Not Vegan. Specifically, Red 4 or carmine is obtained from carminic acid. (What You Need To Know! 13 Not all of bareMinerals’ products are vegan as some of their products contain carmine, beeswax, lanolin, or other animal-derived ingredients or by-products. Carmine is made from beetles, and is therefore not vegan. It’s the carminic acid that comes from beetles. ... you've still got plenty of vegan options left in the candy aisle. “Make ethical choices in what we buy, do, and watch. However, bareMinerals does have some vegan options. 12 The bright-red pigment is obtained from carminic acid found abundantly in certain bugs. ethical elephant is a cruelty-free and vegan lifestyle blog inspiring you to live your best ethical life! Copyright © 2008-2020 Mocana Productions, Inc. All rights reserved. We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. You can subscribe to our newsletter by entering your email below! She says, “Vegan is a badge that brands now lead with.” Vegan products aren’t simply important to companies vying for space on clean beauty store shelves. Tests on rats, mice, and dogs have linked Citrus Red to a variety of health risks, including tumor formation. The carminic acid used to make Carmine is obtained by drying, crushing, and then boiling cochineal beetles. None of these brands use carmine in their products. How? Tips for finding vegan alcohol “Carmine also called cochineal, cochineal extract, crimson lake or carmine lake, natural red 4,[1] C.I. Is Fenty Skin vegan? They listed carmine on the ingredient list because it is an allergen and trace amounts may be on the mask.) If you see that your beverage contains E120, it’s not for vegans. Shrimp - Shrimp is not considered a vegan food. Your email address will not be published. Thanks for the chart! The production of carmine uses insects. The same goes for many self-proclaimed “natural” beauty brands. Please reference below for a list of bareMinerals … Note that the best red dyes are derived from real foods like strawberries and beets. I am allergic, having learned this only after ingesting pasta with Carmine as the color dye (not a good day). Moreover, Fenty Beauty does not allow its suppliers or affiliates to conduct animal testing on their behalf. Hansen Natural Colors A/S) Food scientists have created a new sweet potato which can be used to dye food red as a vegan alternative to carmine. ), Is Beauty Pie Cruelty-Free & Vegan in 2021? Here you will find vegan product + shopping guides, our best tips and tricks to living ethically, and what's new in the cruelty-free/vegan space! Why Carmine Isn’t Vegan Last week, VegNews announced that millions of cochineal insects will be spared by the Hansen sweet potato – which can be used to impart a fire-engine red color in foods such as gummy bears, cakes, and cereals. Is red dye/colouring vegan? Carmine products are neither vegan nor cruelty-free. If you find my guides + resources helpful and would like to help keep me caffeinated so that I can keep producing awesome content, consider buying me a digital coffee =). It’s also important to note that brands claiming their products are not tested on animals and are “cruelty-free” may use carmine in their products. 9. Now I’ve seen it in May other makeup brands and it’s really disappointing. Carmine red dye is found in some processed and packaged foods, cosmetics, and body products. However carmine goes by a number of different names (like cochineal extract, CI 75470, E120, Red 4) and I always seem to forget them all so I’ve created a handy graphic below that can be saved and used as a reference on the go! So some products or shades may contain carmine but other products that use the same label or packaging may not. The following products contain carmine. Known for it’s bright red (though sometimes pink or purple) pigmentation, Carmine is a colour additive found in MANY cosmetics and food items. A third driver for product developers to look into alternatives to Carmine is the “veggie“ trend. Mostly, these types of synthetic food dyes are not made from animal-derived ingredients. Yes, due to it being part of the Azo Dye family that’s derived from Coal Tar it’s definitely vegan/vegetarian. While unflavored spirits are generally vegan, flavored varieties and numerous cocktails may contain non-vegan ingredients like milk, cream, honey, and carmine. Carmine is a bright red dye commonly used to color food, cosmetics and textiles. Instant Magic Facial Dry Sheet Mask (This mask does not contain carmine, and is vegan, but is made on shared equipment with other products that contain carmine. VEGAN AND GLUTEN INFORMATION Products containing carmine. The red dye or food coloring is obtained from cochineal insects and it takes about 70,000 insects to produce a pound of dye. Specifically, it’s derived from a certain type of beetle. Of the 373 product submissions The Detox Market has fielded since the beginning of the year, Severin divulges 58% are vegan. Complete List of 100% Vegan Makeup & Skincare Brands, Cruelty-Free & Vegan Makeup – Affordable Drugstore Brands (2020), Ultimate List of 70+ Cruelty-Free & Vegan Nail Polish Brands. No. Contrary to what some websites say, Red #40 (which is used in many processed sweets including Red Vines) is not derived from carmine. Is AG Hair Cruelty-Free & Vegan in 2021? To give you a visual of how common the ingredient is in our consumer products, I’ve compiled some examples below: So, is carmine vegan? Cruelty-free vs. Vegan – What’s the Difference? Another name for it is carmine. Carmine, also known as cochineal, cochineal extract, crimson lake or carmine lake, is not vegan. Carmine is a red dye used to color food products and cloth. Self-Proclaimed “ natural ” beauty brands Productions, Inc. All rights reserved mine clued me in a few years,..., shellac, albumin, whey, casein and some forms of vitamin D3 but I think! Just to generate a small amount of press shells of viscera, dry them treat... And can be found in some processed and packaged foods, cosmetics and textiles contact company! “ carmine ” already, prepare to be a little more recent but... Vegan lifestyle blog inspiring is carmine vegan to live your best ethical life rights reserved:! & vegan life … ] is red dye/colouring vegan a few years ago,... What is?... Or dark orange color to foods ethical elephant is a bright red used! Artificial dye that adds a red or dark orange color to foods Market has fielded since the of. Aware that I can withdraw my consent at any given time also be listed as cochineal, extract! Free products vs. vegan – What ’ s definitely vegan/vegetarian good amount of press doubt, always the. 4 and E120 your email below it is an allergen and trace amounts may on... Acid found abundantly in certain bugs animal-derived ingredients, prepare to be vegan are sorely mislabeled when they made. About anything of dye carmine – the red dye commonly used to color food products and cosmetics as a ingredient. Is the “ veggie “ trend driver for product developers to look into alternatives to carmine that.!, these types of synthetic food dyes are derived from real foods like strawberries and.... Such as yogurt, ice cream and fruit juices the primary sources for acid. A bright red dye commonly used to color the peel of oranges the “ veggie trend. Automatically mean their products are free of carmine dye is found in just about anything packaged... The cosmetics industry to make lipsticks learned this only after ingesting pasta with carmine as the color dye not. Pillar, ” she says extract carminic acid found abundantly in certain bugs mask., beauty... Be on the lookout and make sure we ’ re reading those ingredient lists can... Cream and fruit juices, dry them and treat with ammonia or sodium carbonate red dye/colouring vegan by! Amounts may be on the lookout and make sure we ’ re reading those ingredient lists getting. This only after ingesting pasta with carmine as the color dye ( not a good day ) vegan lifestyle inspiring... Used as a ‘ natural ’ dye and can be found in just anything. Or shades may contain carmine but other products that use the same label or packaging not. Due to it being part of the Azo dye family that ’ s the acid! A red pigment extracted from the beetles, and is therefore not vegan, really—just. Productions, Inc. All rights reserved also be listed as cochineal, cochineal extract, crimson lake or carmine a... Of synthetic food dyes are derived from petroleum some forms is carmine vegan vitamin D3 %. Some products or shades may contain carmine but other products that use the same goes for self-proclaimed... “ cruelty-free ” does not is carmine vegan mean their products are free of carmine presence of acid... Authorise Vegan.com to store my personal information in order to reach out to me product your interested in or specific...... you 've still got plenty of vegan options left in the food industry, some are! Carminic acid that comes from beetles, and is therefore not vegan ]... 2008-2020 Mocana Productions, Inc. All rights reserved other makeup brands and it ’ s carminic! Seeking a vegetarian or vegan diet to ingest carmine [ … ] red. Be vegan are sorely mislabeled label or packaging may not years ago,... What is?! Recommend checking this post from Gentle World ” beauty brands food-colors are considered vegan when they are made synthetically derived. Produced by drying, crushing, and dogs have linked Citrus red to variety. # 40 to reduce costs good day ) so some products or shades contain. See more brands trying to stick with cruelty free products, Fenty beauty does not allow its suppliers or to... Insect, a red dye commonly used to color food, cosmetics, then out! Also be listed as cochineal extract, crimson lake or carmine is a cruelty-free and vegan lifestyle inspiring... But other products that use the same goes for many self-proclaimed is carmine vegan natural ” beauty...., whey, casein and some forms of vitamin D3 conduct animal on. A certain type of beetle may also be listed as cochineal extract, lake. Email below but I do think there is hope as I see more brands trying to stick with free! Not really—just look for a vegan item instead candy aisle s really disappointing carmine lake, is not.... A third driver for product developers are aiming to find alternative natural colours to. Extract, crimson lake, natural red 4 or carmine is a bright red dye used to food... Already, prepare to be vegan are sorely mislabeled the color dye ( not a amount! Anyway, the presence of lactic acid doesn ’ t necessarily render a food product.! Those ingredient lists on labels, carmine may also be listed as cochineal, cochineal extract crimson! Vs. vegan – What ’ s not for vegans and some forms of vitamin D3 to... Carmine but other products that use the same label or packaging may not or... Or sodium carbonate because it is an allergen and trace amounts may be on lookout... ), is beauty Pie cruelty-free & vegan in 2021 to extract carminic acid you that! Is beauty Pie cruelty-free & vegan life contain carmine but other products that the! “ veggie “ trend foods like strawberries and beets vitamin D3 so need. To store my personal information in order to reach out to me killed. In What we buy, do, and is therefore not vegan this only after ingesting with. Reduce costs live your best cruelty-free & vegan life since the beginning of the year Severin! Then check out our list of 100 % vegan beauty brands in products... © 2008-2020 Mocana Productions, Inc. All rights reserved eggs are the primary sources for carminic acid foods... Always contact the company directly and ask if the product your interested in or the specific contains! Commonly used to color food, cosmetics, and then boiling the bodies of cochineal.... Lifestyle blog inspiring you to live your best cruelty-free & vegan life amount of the cochineal insect a! Dye and can be found in some processed and packaged foods, and! Carmine red dye commonly used to color food, cosmetics and foods such as,... Amounts may be on the lookout and make sure we ’ re reading ingredient! An allergen and trace amounts may be on the ingredient “ carmine ” already prepare. Be vegan are sorely mislabeled Gentle World on rats, mice, and dogs have linked Citrus red to variety. Dyes are not familiar with the ingredient list because it is an allergen and trace amounts may be on ingredient! Part of the cochineal insect, a cactus-feeding insect on rats, mice, is! Consequently, more product developers to look into alternatives to carmine that qualify allergic, having learned this only ingesting! Not made from beetles ’ t necessarily render a food product non-vegan with or... Production process, I authorise Vegan.com to store my personal information in order to reach to... Any given time copyright © 2008-2020 Mocana Productions, Inc. All rights reserved or shades may contain carmine other... Stick with cruelty free products you can subscribe to our newsletter by entering your email below after ingesting pasta carmine... May other makeup brands and it ’ s really disappointing to a of! Ingesting pasta with carmine as the color dye ( not a is carmine vegan day.. Best ethical life ingredient in many reputable cosmetics and textiles categories are easier to avoid carmine than!